Program

October 22-23, 2021

DAY ONE

Friday, October 22, 2021

Welcome & Introduction

8am – 8.30am (Munich CEST)
5pm – 5.30pm (Sydney AEST)


Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt (TUM)
Susan Park (University of Sydney)

Meeting-ID: 610 4765 9849
Kenncode: 643088

8.30am – 9.30am (Munich CEST) / 5:30pm – 6:30pm (Sydney AEST)

Competing Versus Cooperative Multilateralism

Discussant: Tanja Börzel (Freie Universität Berlin)

Paper 1: China’s going global and adapted governance, Yukyung Yeo

Paper 2: Who is the Revisionist Power? Understanding China’s Impact on the Multilateral Trading System, Kristen Hopewell

Break

9.45am – 10.45am (Munich CEST) / 6:45pm – 7:45pm (Sydney AEST) 

Power And Position In Global Economic Governance

Discussant: James Reilly (University of Sydney)

Paper 1: China’s Multilateral Cooperation Strategy, Chris Humphrey 

Paper 2: The China as a Responsible Minor Stakeholder? – A different Lens of Analyzing China’s role in the Governance of International Development Finance, Jue Wang

10:45am – 11am (Munich CEST) / 7:45pm – 8.00pm (Sydney AEST)

Summarizing Themes

Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt (TUM)
Susan Park (University of Sydney)

DAY TWO

Saturday, October 23, 2021

Welcome & Overview

10am – 10.15am (Munich CEST)
7pm – 7.15pm (Sydney AEST)


Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt (TUM)
Susan Park (University of Sydney)

Meeting-ID: 610 4765 9849
Kenncode: 643088

10.15am – 11.15am (Munich CEST) / 7:15pm – 8:15pm (Sydney AEST)

China’s Strategies In Global Economic Governance

Discussant: Tammi Gutner (American University)

Paper 1: Chinese Leadership and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank: Convergence or Divergence of Global Economic Governance, Jilong Yang 

Paper 2: Complex delegation designs in multilateral development financing: China’s strategies of formal and informal influence in the World Bank (IBRD) and in the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), Julia Esser-Grimm

Break

11.30am – 12.30pm (Munich CEST) / 8:30pm – 9:30pm (Sydney AEST) 

China’s Role In Global Economic Governance

Discussant: Margaret Pearson (University of Maryland)

Paper 1: Supportive Institution-Builder and Contested-Multilateralist: Explaining China’s Conflicting Initiatives in Global Economic Governance, Eugenia C. Heldt, Henning Schmidtke & Omar R. Serrano

Paper 2: China and the International Economic Order, Kevin Gallagher  

12:30pm – 1pm (Munich CEST) / 9:30pm – 10pm (Sydney AEST)

Next Steps

Eugénia da Conceição-Heldt (TUM)
Susan Park (University of Sydney)